Skip to content

“Twilight” on the Small Screen

August 6, 2009

Yes, it’s true. I admit it. I read the Twilight series. And yes, to a point, I did enjoy it. The read was very engaging; I had trouble putting it down. But now that Twilight, the first book in the four-part saga, has run the gauntlet of movie production and made it safely to DVD, I’m here to share my views on the film.

So let’s begin. I recently viewed the film for the first time. The film itself (i.e. the script, setting, so on) was great! Obviously, Stephenie Meyer had a foothold in the production of the film. (As a matter of fact, she even appears briefly in the film; you’ll know her when you see her.) This made me far more comfortable with the film itself. I was impressed with the overall look of the film, for the most part. I can even accept the greyish pall that the filmmakers decided to give to every scene, leaving the majority of the film looking dreary and rainy(which, for most of the film, seemed to work). But the fact is, as is usually the case with page-to-screen films, the film just wasn’t the same for me.

 Robert Pattinson certainly portrayed Edward’s dark and dangerous persona very well, while his overall performance seemed, as a good friend of mine who viewed the film with me termed it,  “twitchy”. This “twitchiness” seemed to work for the character, for some reason, though he didn’t have a lot of expression throughout the film. There were brief moments when “Book Edward” truly came through brilliantly.  Kristen Stewart, playing Bella, had much more expression, and seemed to fit her character much better, minus only the “Great Stammering Scene”, as we have come to call it, that takes place in the hospital.  Taylor Lautner’s Jacob Black was good; he seemed to fit the character. Ashley Greene was a terrific Alice; I loved her performance. The actors portraying the Cullen family had fabulous chemistry on the screen.

To be honest, this series, both on paper and on the screen, is one of those series that you can’t make up your mind whether to love or hate. I love that! I love that Meyer makes you alternately want to love her work or get sick over it. The film kept that trait. There were times when it got so romance novel-ish that I wanted to just shut it off, and then suddenly Edward and James were duking it out in (and badly damaging) a dance studio in the middle of the night. Overall, I give the film a B. While it was very good, there were parts that, I feel, could have been a bit better. I will say one thing, however. Stephenie wrote a good series, and in order to gain HER perspective on the film, you’ll have to check out her website.

Tip of the hat to Stephenie, the cast, and my best friend, Emilie, for bringing the DVD to my house so we could watch it! If you can handle adaptations, and vampires, and werewolves, this film is for you!
Robert Pattinson and Kristen Stewart star in the film adaptation of Stephenie Meyers Twilight
Robert Pattinson and Kristen Stewart star in the film adaptation of Stephenie Meyer’s “Twilight”
2 Comments leave one →
  1. ERIN permalink
    September 10, 2009 10:04 pm

    I AGREE I JUST DONT LIKE HOW SPEEDY IT WAS. THE BOOK WAS EASIER TO GO THROUGH AND FEEL THE CHARACTERS.

  2. December 28, 2009 1:38 pm

    Cool blog!

    Rocks Tops

Leave a Reply

