Skip to content

“Green Rider” by Kristen Britain

September 3, 2008

"Green Rider" by Kristen Britain

This is one of those stories that I have read again and again. My school holds a little event called a book swap every year, and last year, while digging through piles of relatively dull-looking books, I came across a (rather battered) copy of this book. I took it home, read it once, then read it again, and again, and I am reading it once more! This book is fabulous!

It tells the story of Karigan G’ladheon who, following a fight that will likely lead to her expulsion, runs away from her school, hoping to return home and explain things to her father. Her otherwise uneventful journey takes a shocking turn when a Green Rider, messenger to the King, appears crashing through the forest with two black shafted arrows protruding from his bloodied back. As he lies dying on the road, he charges Karigan with the task of seeing that the all-important message he carries reaches the King. Karigan, unaware of the dangers this mission will entail, promises to complete his journey, but she soon discovers that there are many who wish to waylay her message, and that they will destroy her if they can.

A rather vague and boring description compared to the actual book, I can tell you! Though the paperback version of the book (not sure if you can find it in hardcover) is a good 471 pages long, you will never be bored. The sequel to this is “First Rider’s Call”, which my sister has a copy of. (I am seething with envy.) The third in the series is “High King’s Tomb”.

The thing that I most enjoyed about this book was its readability. Simply put, I was never once bored with it! (And I am someone who can get quite bored very easily.) Whereas some books I have read in the past have a great storyline, some writers simply drag it out for too long, if you know what I mean, and there are occasional lulls in the story. This isn’t something I encountered when I read “Green Rider”. It follows what seems to be the “tradition” of magic and danger, and the fair folk, of course (herein called “Eletians”) but Britain puts her own spin on things. She has her own voice, which comes through in the writing, and you get a good combination of humor mixed in with action.

This is something I would definitely recommend. It’s a lengthy book, but well worth reading! If you wish to read more about the story and the author, check out www.kristenbritain.com.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

