Skip to content

The Joys of Writing a First Draft

February 25, 2008

The story that I have been working on for the past few months (i.e., since last April) is currently 172 pages in length. That’s 172 pages 12-point typed, Times New Roman, 1.5-spaced lines. I am nowhere neart done. And that’s the first draft.

I began writing fantasy several years ago. I had attempted to write a historical fiction that took place during the Alaskan gold rush. Problems? Lack of ideas. Add that to the fact that I have never been to Alaska, and that therefore all that I can assume is that it is cold. I scrapped that idea, and was lost on what to write.

I have a habit, when I cannot fall asleep, of telling myself stories. One night, a bit of dialogue came into my head. It blossomed into a story. After a few months, I had the first draft done, and I gave it to a few people to read, including my mom. They loved it.

I had planned on writing a sequel, which I did. But the fact that each of these was no more than 50 or 60 pages long disturbed me. I scrapped the sequel idea and started adding onto the first book. I also began another story, and though this one grew to about 50 pages, I haven’t done anything with it since December of last year.

The story that I began last April was sort of a shot in the dark at first. As I wrote it, however, it became more complex. I added more characters, settings, languages, and descriptions. It will be over 200 pages long upon completion, and that is just the first draft.

I enjoy writing almost as much as, if not more than, reading. I write much more eloquently than I speak. I just enjoy it, and I am planning to publish my books.

I figured I would give everybody a little background on myself.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 26, 2008 4:05 pm

    Yay! Good for you! I’d be happy to read anything you write if you ever need an extra pair of eyes!

Leave a Reply

